Beared-itorial

Not sure I noticed anything exciting this week, beyond finally getting some matchbox cars to rough up to become part of the Gaslands showcase as I try out their rules 🙂

But this week has all been about the games, as the other half went on a hen do, this has meant I have had once the child was asleep some serious gaming time..

Games This Week

Game 1 – First real game of Infinity, a 200pt (the points level we have decided to stick to for now) mission using Supremacy. Which means table quarters and some hacking involved, Nomads VS Aridana. I basically took the Nomads starter plus Sin-Eater. I came out 5-1 up at the end of the game, which was great but we learned many lessons around TO Camo (cant surprise shot as an ARO) and a few things along the way.

Game 2 – Second game of Infinity same points, same mission, same list for me but this time against the might of the PanO. This game ended up a 3-3 draw in which we learnt snipers are brutal and drop troops are very sneaky especially with a boarding shotgun about and I need to think about my Lieutenant if I want them to be all gun-ho.

Game 3 – Now for some Guild Ball, in which the Hunters got another run out this time against Union and I decided to take the 2 new players and after a misplay on my part in the first turn it was all down hill from there ending in a 0-12 lose. Have to say that Seenah is not great and I honestly not sure where he fits in at the expense of anyone else in the team.

Game 4 – Now for more Guild Ball, this time against brewers and I dropped the Bear for the Hearne. In the end I won 12-8 but have to say. I am still struggling with the Hunters as I am using Pinned and the forest better but it is a lot of INF to sink into shutting down 1 player with no return momentum wise. I have time to get them down a bit better before an event in August but the spoon could be on with these guys.

Game 5 – This was some malifaux first time out with the Ressers and Molly. I ended up against Ramos and his crew of spiders. We got a 9-9 draw with me missing out on a final point with my rustiness with new schemes.
Was a great game in which I got to see some of what Molly is capable of, her summoning is unusual but also brutal all at once. I think timing is important as hitting stuff after they activate means the thing I summon is untouched.
Special mention to Yin for going down but being an amazing tar pit for me.

Game 6 – Some more Infinity, been on a roll this week.. more Nomads VS Aridana. This time we tried the YAMS system and have to say it is a great system to add loads of variation to games. I came out 7-2 winner getting all my missions, was a brutal game as all my shots seem to hit in the end I tabled my opponent.

image

This was the table and after trial area in first 2 games. I think with the help of Twitter we have hit a nice set up, lots of variation BUT the likes of snipers don’t dominate and need to work to get into a nice position.

So for Infinity with it being so intense, the games themselves at the moment are nice and quick. But I need to remember a few things like Gut Rolls, as most stuff just dies when something lives it is easily forgotten.

We are slowly adding in new rules, so Hacking has made a brief appearance but that will only increase. We also added in command tokens at game 3 and of course other missions like 20×20.

Hobby This Week

A mixture of nomads and stormcasts this week has kept me pretty busy. I am even eyeing up finally starting the Jack Daw crew…

Make sure you check out my sponsors the always friendly if in South ‘Yorkshire’ gaming store the Outpost where you can get 20% off RRP on their site.

2 comments on “Beared-itorial

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

