Beared-itorial #Vappafaux Report

So that was the week that had Vappfaux in it. My first time competing at the event and only my second tournament.

So how did I do? Well 13th out of 26 is respectable with a 1-1-1 win/loss/draw ratio and point’s differential of +2VP

Now under the rules of the sweepstake I can take that as 2-1 ratio as dammit if I don’t lose, than surely everything else is a win, yes?!!

Low Down

The event was well run by Chris and the environment was a pleasure to play. Too often us gamers are shoe-horned into an area but the space available at York Race cours, there is enough room to swing a tiger never mind a cat! The malifaux community is also a great one, everyone is friendly from the all-powerful Joel Henry to the chap who isn’t even on Twitter (shocking I know). You can even rub shoulders with minor celebs who wear flat caps 😉

WAAC

Speaking of the community thanks to the raffle and sweepstake (which was won by a Mr M.Patterson who got the 2-1 and +2Vp spot on) they also raised over £100 for WAAC as well (thank you one and all).

Tournament Report

But let’s get down to the tournament shall we. We played 3 rounds and I got to play against mainly new people which is awesome. Something that was common to all of them was that none of the games got past turn 4 unfortunately this hit some of a VPs but something I need to be more conscious of in future tournaments.

Also I lost my master in every single game and it only bothered me in one game. I hope I am starting to see the balance between Master being alive and scoring VPs. Finally shaking off the shackles of the Warmahordes thinking perhaps..

 ROUND ONE– Chris @CDHay

Strategy: Extraction

Schemes: ALitS and Protect Territory for me and Protect Territory and Assassinate for Chris

My list was (I though Dreamer was on the cards so wanted to deal with Teddies)

  • Mei Feng (Seismic claws,Vapormancy)
  • Emberling
  • Kang
  • 2 Katanaka Sniper
  • Toshiro (Command the Graves)

Chris’s list was

  • Collodi (Fast upgrade, Something else)
  • 4 Stitched
  • Widow Weaver
  • 2 Marrionettes

Result: Lost 7-9

I breathed a sigh of relief as (double) vent steam really meant he had to waste a lot of AP actually getting to my stuff. In the end only a sniper and Mei Feng died (big thing with Assassinate picked) on my side. While I had a race to kill those Stitched difficult with healing around.

In the end I was a little too cautious and didn’t have enough markers down to claim full points on ALitS which in the end cost me a draw.

But a great game, very cat&mouse as far as things go with both crews somewhat cancelling each other out.

I almost caught Collodi as well with Kang but the coward ran away with that built-in trigger.

MVP: Had to be Mei just for shutting down the opposition so well.

ROUND TWO – Neil

Strategy: Headhunter

Schemes: ALitS and Plant explosives for me and Plant explosives and Breakthrough for Neil

My list (I was locked into Lynch for this one would have liked Mei in this situation but my own rules are rules);

  • Lynch (Expert Cheater,Woke Up with A Hand,Endless Hunger)
  • Hungering Darkness (Smoke Grenades (which I Forgot)!!!)
  • Stitched Together
  • 2 10T brothers
  • 2 Illuminated

Neil’s list was

  • Raspy (Ice pillars)
  • Cassandra (something something)
  • Snowstorm (Imbuded energies)
  • Ice gamin
  • Metal gamin
  • Wendigo
  • Soulstone miner

Result: Drew 8-8

So I made 2 what I think are big mistakes in this game. Completely forgot about smoke grenades which meant Huggy was even more vulnerable to Raspy than he already was!!

Second was running up the Stitched together to engage models that had already activated. This gave my opponent full plant explosives instead of less.

MVP: had to be the little stitched, not only did he eat Cassandra (and reduce the cache), he took out the Wenidgo (Red Joker damage J ) but he also nearly dealt with Snowstorm as well. Single-handily giving me my headhunter points!

I was really nervous about this match up and rightly so Raspy hits like a truck and giving Cassandra frozen heart as well to ignore my horror was just mean by my opponent and totally OP (not bitter, honest). But my Brothers did their job and deal with ALiTS for me as I wanted them too.

ROUND THREE – Mark @BraxJaxon

Strategy: Stake a Claim

Schemes: Bodyguard and for me and Protect territory and Plant Explosives for Chris

My list was; (Wanted to try Ama no Zako she what she was like)

  • Yan lo (Brutal Khakkhara,Fortify the Spirirt,On wings of wind – Used once and then forgot, doh!)
  • Soul porter
  • Ama No Zako
  • Guid Pathfinder
  • 2 Tengu
  • Yin the Penangalan

Mark’s list was roughly

  • Kirai
  • Lost love
  • Chiaki
  • Datsuba
  • Yin
  • Seinshin

Won 8-4

What this came down to was I could get up on number of Stake Markers and stay up. Yan Lo trick with a clockwork trap suggested by @BigBoyBucky to me worked a treat 2 severe hits and Yan Lo is sitting pretty on 3 Chi at the end of turn 1!

Ama no Zako did little as she was my Bodyguard and I used her more for pushing my own stuff around with her 0 action pseudo-obey. So never got to see her damage potential.

My MVP has to be Yin, she was a pain with her negative flips. She also handed out negative flips to Ca and Wp against Kirai for 2 turns. Apart from that she just locked stuff down in engagement range nicely!

So that was that great event I enjoyed immensely! Even losing to the power gamer didn’t affect my day (love you Chris).

Models

Some of the crews that were on show;

image

image

image

image

image

 

The Show

During lunch we had to time to enjoy Vanptrak (sp.) which as always was a great mix of traders. Most with a heavy slant towards historical but still very enjoyable.

I also got to pick up these two;

These will be my Jack Daw Crooked Men 😉 but that is a tale for #ToMB2.

Hobby This Week

A break this week, while I recover 🙂

Make sure you check out my sponsors the always friendly if in South ‘Yorkshire’ gaming store the Outpost where you can get 20% off RRP on their site.

2 comments on “Beared-itorial #Vappafaux Report

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

