Beared-itorial #WAAC is coming

Welcome to a special edition of the Beared-itorial.

Recently I have received the news that my mum has cancer. We are still waiting for the true extent of the cancer, but one thing that has been a great help to my mum and dad is the MacMillan Nurses.

They have come in like a whirlwind of help, information and pain killers and already I am grateful that they have been there.

With this in mind I would love to do something for them, supporting Macmillan while they support others.

Now I could have stayed in a bath of baked beans or gone running, but I am a wargamer and this is a wargaming blog and the wargaming community has shown they are a fantastic bunch (yes I am massaging your egos).

So here is what I am suggesting 24 hours of wargaming (this will include board games and MtG to painting) on the bank holiday weekend in August (23rd to 24th), but here is the catch I want it to be everywhere. Which means I need a lot of peoples help šŸ˜€

I want the whole community to get involved even if it is not the full 24 hours. With this in mind I will be contacting as many stores as I can to get them onboard. My great Sponsors at Outpost have already agreed but I will be bombarding people on here and forums and any podcast I can get myself on.

Sound like fun? let me know if you can help and how using the form below;

But if you just want to donate now I have a page set up and ready to go already šŸ™‚ WAAC has a new meaning..

Wargamers All Against Cancer

More info will be incoming as I get it (please bear with me never organised anything like this).

There is also a letter you can give to your gaming store or club committe if you wish to get invloved. You can get it here LETTER.

 

17 comments on “Beared-itorial #WAAC is coming

  1. Reblogged this on The Shell Case and commented:
    We all know someone touched by Cancer. I pray for the day we don’t. Until then I thank God for people like those at Macmillan who support those fighting the good fight.

  2. An idea I heard about raising money with wargaming is to put a pot on every table and allow the players to buy re-rolls for a quid. You can use those re-rolls to force your opponent to re-roll dice as well, and there’s no limit to the number of times a dice can be re-rolled, so both players can end up getting into a bidding war on the result of a single die.
    Those pots will fill up pretty quickly.
    Good luck.

  3. Pingback: The Adventures of Ninja Phil – Safe Staffing Levels | Here be Ninja...

  4. Reblogged this on kamui.co.uk and commented:
    I am sure all #warmongers are there to support you in this troubling time, and we will do all we can to make this event as successful as we can. We all know someone who has been touched by cancer and some day we will completely cure it. Until that day we have the amazing people from Macmillan to help those we love through this.

  5. Pingback: Charity Events | The Goldfish of Justice

  6. Pingback: Episode 17 – Batman Returns | Flock & Awe Podcast

  7. Pingback: Episode 18 – 40K | Flock & Awe Podcast

  8. Pingback: Episode 19 – Minority Report | Flock & Awe Podcast

  9. Pingback: Episode 20 – They Have All Got It Infamy For Me | Flock & Awe Podcast

  10. Pingback: WAAC - Breacher18

  11. Pingback: Episode 21 – We are Lost and Bendy | Flock & Awe Podcast

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

