X-Wing – a Beginners Fall

So after a call for guest writers, a few idio…volutneers came forward 🙂

This is the first of what I hope is some semi-regular people taking time to add to the madness on here, so over to Harry..

Hobby, we all love it. For me it involves almost 20 years of Warhammer 40k.

I tried Necromunda, Gorka Morka and Spacehulk but they all got sold. Even other armies got sold to leave me with loads of awesome space marines. Why? Because I love them, they are to me the epitome of a sci-fi army; Beautiful.

However I have found a new game, one to stay!! Since I was a little boy I loved science fiction and so when I was looking over Element games and I discovered X-wing from Fantasy Flight Games. Oh the joy, my face lit up like a kid in a candy shop, I bought myself the X-wing starter set straight away.

All you need to get going and to learn the basics, not bad for £27. I do love my painting and modelling but one appeal of these is the fact they come fully painted ready to play.

First impressions of the models are good. Obviously the hobby head starts to think about repainting them to my own design, but its not needed and I have far too many things to do.

I played a few games with some colleagues who don’t do tabletop gaming and they liked the games. Didn’t take longer than half hour for 3 of them to get to grips with the game play even whilst drinking.

As far as game size goes each ship has points costs, and also pilots do too. Luke Skywalkers X-wing is more in cost than a rookie pilots, but Luke does come with r2d2.

Untitled

As you can see in the bottom right hand corner Luke costs 5 points more. This will come into play in another post.

I couldn’t resist and ended up buying more of the smaller expansions including Slave 1, the HWK-290 and a Tie advanced..

As you can see in the pictures each expansion comes with more cards and more tokens, I have had to set up a storage system to keep thing organized other wise I would be a mess!

Summing up, my first impressions are great. The game play is fun and easily manageable and the models come painted! I will never have an unpainted model in this game!

Hopefully, my next post will be a bit more about playing the game, if the bear is up for having me.

I can be contacted on twitter @harrythegrumpy or through grumpyharry2014.

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

