Beared-itorial

Been a funny old week this week.
I have played some new systems and decided to reduce what I have. ..

Deep Wars

Finally got to give this a go this last weekend and I have to say it certainly has promise.

The activation mechanic is fun and gives the game a feel of very fast speed. Basically one player rolls 1-3 dice and that dictates how many actions one model has (pass based on quality of model usually 4+).

If you keep passing then that means more of your models can activate, however if you roll more than 2 fails for a model then that signals the end of your ‘turn’ even if you haven’t activated everything.

Combat is also pretty straight forward with a dice off between stats and depending on your opponents armour, your weapons armour breaking and other tweaks you can cause damage.

What we found will take some getting use to is the vast amount of special rules and abilities models can have, and there are a LOT.

It is certainly worth a look as a skirmish level game that can have lots of depth to it (sorry)..

Space Marines

So if you follow on twitter, you may know I am leaving the 30K behind as alas I can’t afford to keep a complete Forge World army going 😦

But I am not going to get rid of the bits of SoH I have instead I am looking at making them into some 40K marines, which in turn means I am stepping away from my Brotherhood of Null (DA successors). What all this means is I am going to be looking at a Raven Guard OR Iron Hands group of models based around the colour scheme I created for the SoH. But for now that is where I am at as I have other armies to concentrate on, speaking of which…

Eldar

I have been playing around with some kill team (200 pt) sized games to get to grips with various parts of the Eldar army and I liking what I am seeing and actually makes me want to do a combo army rather than just concentrating on the Wraiths OR mech lists. So I have been playing around with lists and below is one I have thought up, based on what I have managed to scrounge together plus some extra bits. Any feedback would be awesome….

1750 points of Eldar

HQ

Farseer on Jetbike (cheap HQ)

Avatar (why not 😀 )

Troops

10x Dire Avengers (Wave Serpent)

12x Guardians (bright lance) with Warlock

4x Rangers

3x Jetbikes with Warlock

Elites

10x Striking Scorpions with Exarch

Fast Attack

7x Warp Spiders with Exarch

Heavy Support

Wraithknight (Suncannon and scatter laser)

Wraithlord (Bright lance and Ghost Glaive)

Paint/hobby Corner

I have made so head way into the brother-in-laws Legion I am painting for him. I have enjoyed this little side project painting for someone else. Anyone wants me to paint their stuff and only need tabletop quality (ish) then get in touch 😉
image

As always any suggests/comments welcome and if you want me to cover anything let me know, as always see you hopefully next week.

outpost 150x150

Also don’t forget to Visit the Outpost, our friendly Yorkshire-based (don’t hold that against them) gaming centre sponsors.

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

