Soapy Bearbox – Painting Flames

Welcome to the latest Soapy Bearbox guest post big thanks to Tom for doing this. Especially as it is something different a painting tutorial! So handing straight over to him and his post.

Hi everyone!
Before I dive straight into my little tutorial I suppose I should tell you who I am. My name is Tom, or as I’m known on Twitter, @KempKamikaze. I’ve been painting miniatures for about 10 years and enjoy it immensely. After posting one of my latest efforts the Bear asked me to do a little tutorial on painting flames. Refusing a #warmonger of his standing was obviously out of the question (damn right – doc) so here I am!

Quick note – All painting in this tutorial should be done in strokes from the base of the flame to the tip. This is easiest when holding the model upside-down. This results in the stroke thinning to a point which looks more natural.

Colours – In this tutorial I will be painting blue flames using Kantor Blue, Temple Guard Blue and White Scar. Other colour flames can be replicated using a dark colour, a lighter shade of the same colour and white.

Step 1 – A base colour is put onto the model using Kantor Blue. Try to paint in thick flame shapes but neatness isn’t too important at this stage. This layer mainly just provides a base for later layers.

image

Step 2 – A mix of Kantor Blue and Temple Guard Blue in a ratio of 2:1 is added next. This layer should be fairly neat compared to the last as it is the base shape for later coats.

image[1]
Step 3 – The next layer is a mix of Kantor Blue and Temple Guard Blue in a ratio of 1:2. Following the shape of the previous layer add this coat like you would a heavy highlight leaving some of the previous layer showing.

image[2]

Step 4 – Using a coat of just Temple Guard Blue add a number of thin wavy strokes starting from the base of the flames. This coat shouldn’t cover the previous layer as before but should work in combination with it to produce depth. At this stage flecks of flame separate from the main body are added.

image[3]

Step 5 – To finish use a 1:1 mix of Temple Guard Blue and White Scar. This should be applied as the previous layer was but not extending as far from the base of the flames.

image[4]

This technique can be used sparingly to add small details or as a major part of a colour scheme. Below is my original use of the technique which won me a colour scheme competition at my local GW.

image[5]

image[6]

I hope you enjoy this technique as much as I did and would love to think it had inspired other colour schemes. Happy hobbying!

Thanks again to Tom for the article, I am half tempted to give this a go on my future Eldar vehicles. Notice I said vehicles not daft enough to do this on actual infantry 😉

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

