My thoughts on the new Dark Angels

Now the mass hysteria of the leaked pictures (HERE) has calmed a tad and with the end of the world happening right now…..

I thought I should add my thoughts to the voices on the internet as I will be using the DA book for my Brotherhood of Null what will I be getting..

Belial – I like him would have liked him in Cataphractii armour just to be different and has anyone else noticed his feet are pointing in just a little bit too much?

Deathwing Terminators - Going to guess a double kit for command or knight squads. I like that the command squad follows the Dark Vengeance squad pretty well. As for the Knight squad…. MUWAHAHAHAHA!! How jealous are those TH wielding Imperial Fists ;) I like them a lot.

Ravenwing Black Knights – Pretty standard bikers although I notice the TL-plasma on some of the bikes and a lot iconography on everything. I like them a lot be interesting to see what they offer over standard RW.

Dark Talon – I prefer this over the Storm talon the stubbyness seems to work better when you have wings.

Land Speeder Vengeance – Absolutely BONKERS!! It looks like something the mad Black Templars would use! I would not want to be that front gunner! However it has grown on me but will have to see it in really life the Stonehorn/Thundertusk I didn’t like until I had it in my hands.

Overall pretty happy with this although I am probably more happy I have 2 DV sets to get going with these..

11 responses to “My thoughts on the new Dark Angels

  • Drake Poldragon

    Back on Monday of this week I decided I’d go for 1,000 points of DA for the local stores Crusade of Fire campaign in January.

    Clearly I’ll be going over 1,000 points now!! Belial has awesome armour and a pose from 1988. His bretheren however are pretty amazing looking.
    I rushed out yesterday to buy the Ravenwing boxset to avoid a re-packaing mark-up. I think the new RW knights will make a nice addition without making older figs look bad.

    I love the look of the Dark Talon and the LS Vengence.

    I quickly see my 1,000 points turning into 2,000. Should be avle to stop there. :)

    All in all I agree with your views although I’m more optimistic about the Land Speeder Cathedral. :)

  • Phil

    Reblogged this on The Shell Case and commented:
    Dave talks Dark Angels. I talk nonsense. The world continues to turn.

  • Volt Ron

    I’ve been thinking of doing a Deathwing army for awhile and even picked up 2 sets of DV Termies for it to start. I like the Beliel model, except for his legs. The knight squad looks cool and so does the flyer, I agree that the stub nose works.

  • barrykiker

    I agree with you. The new models are rekindling my lost love of the Dark Angels. You’re right about the Land Speeder Vengeance. I’ll have to see it in real life. Even then I’m not sold. Compared to all the great models that the Dark Angels have, the Vengeance looks almost like it was shoe horned in at the last minute. I do foresee every other space marine player using the Dark Talon as a count as Stormtalon.

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,220 other followers

