Eye of the Dropzone Commander storm

So it has been a couple of weeks since the website went live and we are about a month away from release date,  we are literally in the eye of storm between site launch and release date :D

With this in mind I thought it would be interesting to have a sit down a ramble/muse away.

After spending many hours constantly clicking refresh and only getting the same page I had succumb to a light sleep and in the early hours of a Saturday morning I managed to get a glimpse at the Dropzone Commander site and a very good site it is.

All the shiny things sat there to tempt us to part with our cash and here is the bit about price I promise this shall be the last time I mention their prices on this blog EVER.

Individually the prices are reasonable for what you are paying for which from what it looks like and what has been promised is some premium quality miniatures in a hobby that is as a whole a premium hobby. What surprised myself and others I have spoken to was the starter sets being so expensive (the fact there is little saving on them to me is irrelevant) as I would have preferred less if need be to get the price closer to that magical £30 area that so many gaming companies use and what I personally have come accustomed to (be it PP or Spartan Games).

Has it cooled my interest? not in the slightest but I will hold off getting a faction until I have seen the rules to make sure the 2 I am looking at (Scourge or Shaltari in case you are interested) really are for me. In a strange way this has helped me as I am now going to consider which faction is right for me rather than doing what I usually do with a new game and see which one has the shiniest shine.

I totally understand where Hawk Wargames is coming from now (after my OMG! moment) and I applaud them for being different and supplying a full force to use even at the bottom end of starters (something only Spartan Games does). This plus the nice tie-in with KR multicase is a stroke of genius from both companies and one I hope many more try to do going forward.

So that is it for the cash side of things bit longer than I wanted but finishing on a positive is always good..

Now huge props to Dave for doing a live chatty thingy on Facebook on the Monday after the site went live. He answered many questions in cryptic ways to keep us only half in the know of the future for the game and the rules that are coming. I am certainly looking forward to trying everything out and hopefully he doesn’t run out of stuff on the run up to Christmas (I have been a good boy Santa please can I have DZC stuff – yes imagine me on sat Santas lap >:D).

You can read those resulting FAQs HERE.

Now as we enter the month before the release date I hope Dave has had caught up on some sleep and we start to get drip fed even more information going forward. As he did an excellent job prior to the site opening I want to see the same again for the release date. Be it pictures of the rulebook or rule example, videos I don’t care what just give us some more info tease away if you have to. We are already hooked so feed the masses..

So as you can tell I have settled into a nice place with DZC everything seems to be coming into place for what is going to be a very good game and I can’t wait.

On a unrelated note to Hawk Wargames I do a very good reviews *nudge nudge wink wink* :D

2 responses to “Eye of the Dropzone Commander storm

Discuss awaaaaayyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,267 other followers

